Get your Equality PA Swag and Pride Supplies at our Equality PA Store today!

Equality Pennsylvania Endorses Pro-equality Candidates for Municipal Primary

Harrisburg – Today, Equality Pennsylvania released its slate of endorsed candidates for the Primary Election on May 21. These pro-equality candidates have all pledged to be leaders in the journey toward full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in the Commonwealth. The slate includes 9 openly LGBT candidates.

“Municipal lawmakers have a tremendous impact on the lives of LGBT people. In fact, all of the current protections available to LGBT Pennsylvanians have come through municipal level policy change, championed by local leaders,” said Ted Martin, Executive Director of Equality Pennsylvania. “We are proud to endorse this slate of candidates, all of whom are well-positioned to become strong advocates for equality in our state.”

In recent years, more and more candidates at the local, state, and federal level have sought out Equality Pennsylvania’s endorsement — as public opinion shifts firmly in support of equal protection for LGBT people.

“It’s a wonderful sign of our times that so many candidates who support full equality for the LGBT community are running for office across Pennsylvania,” said Adrian Shanker, President of Equality Pennsylvania. “From Meadville to Norristown, candidates for public office across the state are saying they support equality as a central tenant of their campaign.”

In the coming weeks, Equality Pennsylvania will educate its members on these pro-equality candidates and mobilize supporters to get out and vote.

Central Pennsylvania:
Ben Allat – Harrisburg City Council
Anne Gingrich Cornick – Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas
Chris Dietz – Incumbent, Millersburg Borough Council
Dan Miller – Mayor of Harrisburg
Kevin Schreiber – (Special Election) 95th House District, York
Timothy Scott – Mayor of Carlisle
Pat Stringer – Harrisburg City Council

Lehigh Valley and North East Pennsylvania:
Wesley Barrett – Lehigh County Commissioner – District 5
Carmen Bell – Allentown City Council
Geoff Brace – Lehigh County Commissioner – District 4
Bryan Callahan – Bethlehem City Council
John Callahan – Northampton County Executive
Karen Dolan – Incumbent, Bethlehem City Council
Elizabeth Randol – Mayor of Scranton
J. William Reynolds – Mayor of Bethlehem
Ernest Schlegel – Reading City Council – District 5

Philadelphia and South East Pennsylvania:
Shoshana Bricklin – Philadelphia Municipal Court
Giovanni Campbell – Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas
Inja Coates – Philadelphia Traffic Court
Mimi DeSouza – Incumbent, Norristown Municipal Council – District 1
Lori Schreiber – Incumbent – Abington Township Commissioner
Erica Weiherer – Spring City Borough Council

Western Pennsylvania:
Jeanne Clark – Pittsburgh City Council – District 8
Robert Langley – Incumbent, Meadville City Council
Natalia Rudiak – Incumbent, Pittsburgh City Council – District 4
Bill Peduto – Mayor of Pittsburgh

*Italics indicate an openly LGBT candidate.

Become an Equality Sustainer

Sponsored Link

Thank you to our 2017-18 Strategic Partners

Equality Federation Human Rights Campaign Gill Foundation Gill Action Fund Freedom for All Americans
American Unity Fund ACLU PA Evelyn & Walter Haas, Jr. Fund Johnson Family Foundation Schlegel-Deibler Charitable Foundation

To become a strategic partner with a contribution, sponsorship, or service of $2,500 or more,
contact us.

© 2008-18 Equality Pennsylvania  |  All rights reserved.  | 
HQ: 400 Third Ave, #107  |  Kingston, PA 18704  |
'Equality PA' is 3 entities: Equality Pennsylvania Education Fund, Equality Pennsylvania (Advocacy), and Equality PA PAC.
Contributions to EPEF are tax deductible. Contributions to EP & EPPAC are not.
All content on this website belongs to Equality Pennsylvania (Advocacy) [501c4] unless otherwise noted.