Get your Equality PA Swag and Pride Supplies at our Equality PA Store today!

Equality Pennsylvania Endorses “Equality Champions” for November Election

29 Endorsed Candidates Represent Geographic Diversity, and Seven Identify as Members of the LGBT Community

Philadelphia – Today Equality Pennsylvania announced endorsed candidates for the 2013 general election. The 29 candidates represent geographical diversity throughout the state, and seven of the endorsed candidates identify as members of the LGBT community. (Noted with italics.)

Adanjesus Marin, Chair of Equality Pennsylvania’s 501 (c)4 Board, noted, “We take great pride in our candidate endorsement process. Since 2010, we have helped to elect numerous candidates to local, state and federal offices, and the candidates we’re endorsing this year will all make excellent elected officials.”

Adrian Shanker, President of Equality Pennsylvania stated, “Our endorsement process puts candidates on the record for LGBT equality. All of these candidates, if elected, will be excellent advocates for equality in their cities, counties, townships, boroughs and school districts. And the judicial candidates we’ve endorsed will be fair-minded in their approach. All of these candidates are deserving of our votes and our support. We encourage the 60,000 Equality Pennsylvania members from around the state to volunteer, donate, or spread the word that these candidates are endorsed equality champions.”

Central Pennsylvania:
Ben Allatt – Harrisburg City Council
Jenn Black – Loyalsock Township Supervisor
Anne Gingrich Cornick – Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas
Shamaine Daniels – Harrisburg City Council
Chris Dietz – Incumbent, Millersburg Borough Council
Timothy Scott – Mayor of Carlisle
Sean Shultz – Carlisle Borough Council

Lehigh Valley and North East Pennsylvania:
Wesley Barrett – Lehigh County Commissioner – District 5
Geoff Brace – Lehigh County Commissioner – District 4
Bryan Callahan – Bethlehem City Council
John Callahan – Northampton County Executive
Deb Hunter – Northampton County Council
Tom Muller – Lehigh County Executive
Karen Dolan – Incumbent, Bethlehem City Council
Tom O’Donnell – Northampton County Council
Ed Pawlowski – Incumbent, Mayor of Allentown
Adam Waldron – Bethlehem City Council

Philadelphia and South East Pennsylvania:
Giovanni Campbell – Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas
Donna Deely – Mayor of New Hope
Josh Maxwell – Incumbent, Mayor of Downingtown
Lori Schreiber – Incumbent, Abington Township Commissioner
Ron Strouse – Mayor, Doylestown
James S. Taylor – Springfield Township (Montgomery County) School Board
Erica Weiherer – Spring City Borough Council
Gail Weilheimer – Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas

Western Pennsylvania:
Dan Gilman – Pittsburgh City Council – District 8
Deb Gross – Pittsburgh City Council – District 7
Robert Langley – Incumbent, Meadville City Council
Natalia Rudiak – Incumbent, Pittsburgh City Council – District 4
Bill Peduto – Mayor of Pittsburgh



With 60,000 members across the commonwealth, Equality Pennsylvania is the leading organization advancing equality and opportunity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Pennsylvanians.

Contact: Levana Layendecker, llayendecker at equalitypa dot org

Become an Equality Sustainer

Sponsored Link

Thank you to our 2017-18 Strategic Partners

Equality Federation Human Rights Campaign Gill Foundation Gill Action Fund Freedom for All Americans
American Unity Fund ACLU PA Evelyn & Walter Haas, Jr. Fund Johnson Family Foundation Schlegel-Deibler Charitable Foundation

To become a strategic partner with a contribution, sponsorship, or service of $2,500 or more,
contact us.

© 2008-18 Equality Pennsylvania  |  All rights reserved.  | 
HQ: 400 Third Ave, #107  |  Kingston, PA 18704  |
'Equality PA' is 3 entities: Equality Pennsylvania Education Fund, Equality Pennsylvania (Advocacy), and Equality PA PAC.
Contributions to EPEF are tax deductible. Contributions to EP & EPPAC are not.
All content on this website belongs to Equality Pennsylvania (Advocacy) [501c4] unless otherwise noted.